1st Annual Durango Soccer Awards

Submitted by DOC on Tue, 11/19/2013 - 12:08pm

Tory Aggeler - Master of Ceremonies

The Durango community was invited to the First Annual Durango Soccer Awards.  The event took place on Monday, December 16, 6:00 p.m. at the Fort Lewis College Concert Hall.  Players, coaches and others involved in the local soccer community were recognized for their achievements and participation in the sport.  

This special inaugural event was organized by the Durango Youth Soccer Association (DYSA) and the Fort Lewis College Men’s and Women’s Soccer Programs.  All players will received certificates of participation, while some players were awarded special trophies for most valuable player, most improved player, and the GOAL Award for community involvement.  The event honored former DYSA Administrator, Barbara Bell,  for exceptional support of the sport.  

Kate Stahlin, Director of Coaching for DYSA, said more than 360 youth from the area are involved in DYSA. She emphasized, “That number is counting our program alone.  Durango’s soccer community has continually grown with more and more preschoolers and elementary kids joining rec teams every year.”

Damian Clarke, Head Coach FLC Women's Soccer, added that Durango has a unique and vibrant soccer history, “The local soccer community is very distinct.  We have nationally ranked college players working with the local youth. That relationship has been fostered since the days of former FLC Coach Jeremy Gunn. What better way to celebrate that connection than with our local players, coaches and fans coming together for a fun and memorable evening!”

The event will become a yearly highlight that will cap off the annual fall soccer season. 

Click HERE for pictures

2013 Most Improved Players:

U11B Inferno – Wyatt Birgenheier

U11B Rangers – Thomas Schuler

U12B Chaos – Corbin Miller

U13B Thunder – Gavin Deffenbaugh

U14B United – Tanus Yoder

U15B United – Dillon Hufnagel

U16B United – Jared Webster & Lars Schwaebe

U18B United – Austin Scalf

U11G Beat - Kelsey Nicholson

U11G Mystic - Kinslee Hanagan

U12G Flash - Jaimie Hitti

U12G Strikers - Claire Hufnagel

U13G Diablos - Adelaide Birgenheier

U13G Dynamos - Emma Hackett

U14G Blast - Jenna Beckley

U14G En Fuego - Mara Morrissey

U16G United - Cecilia Careaga

U18G United - Mathea Fyksen

2013 Most Valuable Player:

U11B Inferno - Logan Stetler

U11B Rangers - Elliot Wright

U12B Chaos - Leland Heinicke

U13B Thunder - Jack Beattie

U14B United - Steven Sigillito

U15B United - Connor Henry

U16B United -  Logan Graham

U18B United - Seamus MacAliney

U11G Beat – Molly Burgwald 

U11G Mystic – Kyla Tucker 

U12G Flash – Alexa Howell

U12G Strikers – Emma Grace Fitzgerald 

U13G Diablos – Sarah Vierling 

U13G Dynamos – Caley McClain 

U14G Blast – Autumn Stevens 

U14G En Fuego – Grace Frediger 

U16G United – Peyton Floyd 

U18G United – Steffie Wilson 

DYSA Male Player of the Year

Andrew Saddler

DYSA Female Player of the Year

Steffie Wilson

DYSA Coach of the Year

Jacob Schmoker

Lifetime Achievement Award

Barbara Bell

12/16/2013 - 6:00pm